Econ 382: Economics of Development

Academic Literature Sources

  • EconLit open database
    The authoritative database for academic literature in economics.
    Coverage Dates: 1969 - Present
  • AGRICOLA open database
    Index of materials relating to all aspects of agriculture, especially government and agency reports.
    Coverage Dates: 1970 - Present
  • ArticleFirst open database
    This interdisciplinary database contains entries for articles from thousands of journals in a number of subjects. Many of the articles in WorldCat Local, the new version of the library catalog, come from this database.
    Coverage Dates: 1990 - Present
  • Academic Search Premier open database
    Another cross-disciplinary database of mostly academic journals. Many articles are full-text.
    Coverage Dates: 1965 - Present
  • PAIS International open database
    Abstracts of journal articles, books, and government documents relating to the study of politics and public affairs.
    Coverage Dates: 1915 - Present

News Sources

  • Academic Search Premier open database
    Many news and commentary magazines, as well as academic journals. Includes fulltext of the Economist.
    Coverage Dates: 1965 - Present
  • Business Source Premier open database
    Abstracts and full text articles on companies, business and industries.
    Coverage Dates: -
  • LexisNexis Academic open database
    Fulltext database for news, legal, and business information.
    Coverage Dates: 1980 - Present
  • Wall Street Journal open database
    A searchable archive.
    Coverage Dates: 1984 - Current
  • World News Connection open database
    News articles in translation from print and broadcast media and wire services around the world. Search for stories, or read current headlines by region.
    Coverage Dates: 1996 - Present
  • The Economist open database
    Full text access, 2000 - Present
    Coverage Dates: 2000 - Present

Country & Policy Information

Reference Sources

Data

  • World dataBank open database
    Download over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sources. Includes World Development Indicators Online and Global Development Finance.
    Coverage Dates: -
  • International Financial Statistics open database
    Select and download indicators from the International Monetary Fund.
    Coverage Dates: 1945 - Present
  • OECD iLibrary open database
    Portal site for all electronic publications of the Organisation of Economic Cooperation and Development. For data, choose Statistics from the navigation bar at the top of the main page.
    Coverage Dates: -
  • UNData open database
    Gateway to United Nations data sets on a wide range of subjects.
    Coverage Dates: unknown - unknown

Locating & Borrowing Books

When searching library catalogs keep in mind:

  • Alternating between keyword and subject searching will probably be the most fruitful approach.
  • When you're searching for books you need to be much more general with your language.
  • Use the information in the detailed record to help you assess whether or not the book will be useful.
  • Remember that in some cases, you may simply need to turn to other resources, possibly including book reviews, to get detailed information about a book before you order it.

WorldCat Local allows you to search the Reed, Summit and Worldcat catalogs simultaneously.  Advanced Search can be helpful for defining the search terms for more complex searchings; e.g., finding a specific book by a specific author, or searching only journal titles.

Request books from Summit libraries with your name and the barcode number from your Reed ID.  To request books from WorldCat libraries, you'll be linked to your Illiad (interlibrary loan) page, where you'll need to use your Reed network login and password to complete your request.

If you'd prefer to search Reed library materials using our traditional catalog, the Reed-only catalog is still available.

 

Getting Magazine and Journal Articles

Many library databases include information to help you locate articles in the news media and academic literature, but they may not include the full text of the article itself.

The library offers three services to help you make the connection from these databases to the article you need:
  • Reed fulltext link in the database.  Most Reed databases include link that says something like "Check Reed fulltext."  Click on this link to view Reed's print and e-journal holdings for the article you're looking for.
  • Print & E-Journals List (includes newspapers and news services).  If you know that you are looking for an article from a particular magazine or journal, use this link to search for the publication by title.
  • Interlibrary Loan Request -- ILLIAD.  Log into this service with your Reed network ID and passoword to request for journal, magazine, and newspaper articles that are not available through Reed's print or electronic collections.  You'll be notified by e-mail when your article is available for viewing, usually within 1-2 weeks. 

 

Last Update: January 15, 2013 11:10