Academic Literature Review Tools
-
Sociological Abstracts
The primary research database for sociologists. Abstracts of scholarly articles, book reviews, and conference papers.
Coverage Dates: 1952 - Present -
Social Sciences Citation Index
Abstracts of articles published in important journals from the social sciences and related professions. Citation searching allows you to identify articles that have cited an author or specific work. For area studies, you may wish to search the Arts & Humanities Citation Index in addition to SSCI. (See the Citation Databases section at the bottom of the search screen to add AHCI to your search.)
Coverage Dates: 1898 - Present -
Historical Abstracts
An abstracts database useful for area studies outside of North America. Indexes many of the "Specialized Journals" listed below.
Coverage Dates: 1954 - Present -
Academic Search Premier
Interdisciplinary database of both academic journal articles and general interest magazines. Fulltext is available for many titles.
Coverage Dates: 1965 - Present
Specialized Journals
Canadian Slavonic Papers
Central Asian Survey
Communist and Post-Communist Studies (formerly Studies in Comparative
Communism)
Communist Economies and Economic Transformation (now Post-Communist Economies)
Demokratizatsiia
East European Constitutional Review
East European Politics and Societies
Europe-Asia Studies (formerly Soviet Studies)
Journal of Communist Studies
Journal of Democracy
Nationalities Papers
Post-Soviet Affairs (formerly Soviet Economy)
Problems of Post-Communism
Russian Review
Slavic Review
Primary Sources
-
LexisNexis Academic
Fulltext database for news sources of all kinds, including newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts. See the "Source" tab to browse for sources by region or country of origin. Most sources are updated daily. A word of caution for historical coverage: the oldest sources in LexisNexis go back to 1980, and many begin coverage in the 1990s.
Coverage Dates: 1980 - Present -
Proquest Historical Newspapers
Contains articles from major U.S. newspapers, including the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Boston Globe. Coverage dates vary by title. None includes current content.
Coverage Dates: - -
Periodicals Index Online
Formerly PCI - Periodicals Contents Index. An index to magazine and journal articles in more than 4,600 scholarly journals and magazines in the humanities and social sciences.
Coverage Dates: 1665 - 1995 -
World News Connection
Translated news stories from wire services and news publications, from 1996 to today. Search specific topics by city, country, or region, or view current headlines by region.
Coverage Dates: 1996 - Present -
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
The predecessor of World News Connection.
Coverage Dates: 1941 - 1996
Catalogs
Reed Catalog -- WorldCat Local Version
The new Reed catalog introduced in fall 2009 combines library holdings of Reed, Summit libraries (most academic libraries in the northwest) and WorldCat, a union catalog of thousands of public and academic libraries. You can request books from both Summit and WorldCat through the Reed catalog. You'll be notified when they arrive at the Reed circulation desk for pick-up.
Reed-only Catalog -- Original Version
The original catalog is still available for searching. It is possible to browse authors, titles, and subjects in this version of the catalog. Continue on to a Summit search by using the "Search Summit" link.
Getting Magazine and Journal Articles
- Reed fulltext link in the database. Most Reed databases include link that says something like "Check Reed fulltext." Click on this link to view Reed's print and e-journal holdings for the article you're looking for.
- Print & E-Journals List (includes newspapers and news services). If you know that you are looking for an article from a particular magazine or journal, use this link to search for the publication by title.
- Interlibrary Loan Request -- ILLIAD. Log into this service with your Reed network ID and passoword to request for journal, magazine, and newspaper articles that are not available through Reed's print or electronic collections. You'll be notified by e-mail when your article is available for viewing, usually within 1-2 weeks.
Human Rights Reports
Freedom House
Nations in Transit is the only comprehensive, comparative, and multidimensional study of reform in the former Communist states of Europe and Eurasia. Nations in Transit tracks the reform record of 29 countries and administrative areas and provides Freedom House's most in-depth data about this vast and important region. The 2011 edition covers events from January 1 through December 31, 2010. It is an updated edition of surveys published in 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002, 2001, 1999-2000, 1998, 1997, and 1995.
Radio Free Europe / Radio Liberty
Human Rights Links from the United Nations. Links to the U.N. Human Rights Council and other specific offices, conferences, etc. that produce documentation on human rights and related issues.
Human Rights Reports from the U.S. State Department. The Country Reports on Human Rights Practices contain valuable descriptions of current conditions in dozens of countries. Updated annually.
Other Web Resources
Collapse of the Soviet Union: Oral History of Independent Ukraine, 1988-1991
Ukrainian Helsinki Human Rights Union
Communal Living in Russia: A Virtual Museum of Soviet Everyday Life, National Endowment for the Humanities Teaching and Learning Resources website, co-authored with Ilya Utekhin, Slava Paperno, and Alice Nakhimovsky (2006-2008)
The Global Feminisms Project - Poland
Ukrainian Canadian Research & Documentation Centre
The UCRDC collects material on such topics as:
•Ukrainian Famines of 1921-23, 1932-33, 1946-47
•The internment of Ukrainians in Canada 1914-1920
•Ukraine and Ukrainians during WW II
•Ukraine and Ukrainians under Soviet occupation: Joint Oral History project with Lviv State University
•Ukrainian-Jewish relations

