Scholarly Literature
-
Sociological Abstracts
The primary research database for sociologists. Abstracts of scholarly articles, books reviews, and conference papers.
Coverage Dates: 1952 - Present -
Social Sciences Citation Index
Very up-to-date abstracts of scholarly journal literature. Use the cited reference search to find journal articles that have cited authors, books, or journal articles of importance to your research.
Coverage Dates: 1898 - Present -
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database that features very easy searching and options for narrowing your topic. An easy way to access thousands of academic journals and general commentary magazines.
Coverage Dates: 1965 - Present -
Gender Studies Database
Includes Women's Studies International, the primary research database for women's studies, and the Men's Studies database.
Coverage Dates: 1972 - Present
News and Opinion Sources
-
LexisNexis Academic
Fulltext database for news and legal publications. Includes broadcast transcripts. Choose the Sources tab to identify publications by region or country.
Coverage Dates: 1980 - Present -
MasterFILE Premier
Multidisciplinary database of general and popular magazines, periodicals, and reference sources. Many include full text.
Coverage Dates: - -
Alternative Press Index
Searches both Alternative Press Index and Alternative Press Index Archive. Useful for researching cultural, economic, political & social change. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
Coverage Dates: 1991 - Present -
Proquest Historical Newspapers
Full text of historical newspapers, including the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Boston Globe. Also includes access to Black Historical Newspapers including the Defender and others. Coverage varies but generally starts in the 1800s. Current content is not included; please see LexisNexis Academic for recent years' content.
Coverage Dates: - -
Access World News
Full-text articles from over 2,600 U.S. and international newspapers, including the Oregonian and other regional papers. Includes Selected wire services, radio and television transcripts.
Coverage Dates: 1985 - present -
America's Historical Newspapers (includes Oregonian)
Digitized version of the Oregonian backfile. Complements the fulltext of the Oregonian found in Access World News (1987-present).
Coverage Dates: 1861 - 1987 -
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Video clips from major television news networks, some as streaming video, but most must be ordered. Contact Dena for help in placing an order.
Coverage Dates: 1968 - Present
Catalogs
Reed Catalog -- WorldCat Local Version
The new Reed catalog introduced in fall 2009 combines library holdings of Reed, Summit libraries (most academic libraries in the northwest) and WorldCat, a union catalog of thousands of public and academic libraries. You can request books from both Summit and WorldCat through the Reed catalog. You'll be notified when they arrive at the Reed circulation desk for pick-up.
Reed-only Catalog -- Original Version
The original catalog is still available for searching. It is possible to browse authors, titles, and subjects in this version of the catalog. Continue on to a Summit search by using the "Search Summit" link.
Getting Magazine and Journal Articles
- Reed fulltext link in the database. Most Reed databases include link that says something like "Check Reed fulltext." Click on this link to view Reed's print and e-journal holdings for the article you're looking for.
- Print & E-Journals List (includes newspapers and news services). If you know that you are looking for an article from a particular magazine or journal, use this link to search for the publication by title.
- Interlibrary Loan Request -- ILLIAD. Log into this service with your Reed network ID and passoword to request for journal, magazine, and newspaper articles that are not available through Reed's print or electronic collections. You'll be notified by e-mail when your article is available for viewing, usually within 1-2 weeks.
Useful Oral History Archives
Voices of Feminism Oral History Project - Smith College The Voices of Feminism Oral History Project documents the persistence and diversity of organizing for women in the United States in the latter half of the 20th century. Narrators include labor, peace, and anti-racism activists; artists and writers; lesbian rights advocates; grassroots anti-violence and anti-poverty organizers; and women of color reproductive justice leaders. Interviews average 5-6 hours and cover childhood, personal life, and political work.
ACTUP Oral History Project The ACT-UP Oral History Project is a collection of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York Oral History
The LGBT Religious Archives Network This Oral History collection provides in-depth interviews with a diverse group of early LGBT religious leaders. By selecting a person you can listen to that interview, read the transcript, view photographs and peruse biographical notes.
Civil Rights Oral Histories
Introduction: Library of Congress Civil Rights Resource Guide
Oral Histories Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project Activist Oral Histories Veterans of Seattle's civil rights campaigns tell their stories in streaming video oral histories.
Civil rights movement in Kentucky
Environmentalism
Sierra Club oral history archive
Multiple Movement Archives
UCLA Oral History Research Center
UC Berkeley Bancroft Library Oral History Archive Useful for the following Social Movements: Disability Rights and Independent Living Movement Labor Movement Organizations and Issues of the Blind, 1880s-1950s Social Welfare History Self-Advocacy Movement.
Campus Protest Archive
U Wisconsin 1960s protests oral history archives The student body of the University of Wisconsin-Madison has a rich and diverse history of activism and protest. This site does not claim to be all-inclusive, but instead attempts to provide a representative selection of student protest throughout the twentieth century, using sources from the University Archives.

