To identify books:
Using WorldCat Local you can search Reed's collection, local libraries (via Summit), & libraries all over the world (via WorldCat) all at once. You can even check your account & renew Reed items from "My Account".
Although the default search is Keyword, more specific searches can be conducted using the Advanced Search. The advanced search option allows you to search using everything you know about the item: Title, author, subject, keyword, etc. to give you more specific results. You may also limit your results by language, format, year, and where the item is located.
The search results screen shows what your search terms were, allows sorting by location, author, or date, and shows you where each item is located.
- Held by Reed Library: make note of the call no. and get it from our shelves.
- Held by Summit Libraries: the item is available from summit, use the link to request via Summit.
- Held by WorldCat Libraries: no local libraries have it, so request via the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) option.
You can refine your results by format (books, videos, etc) and by language, year, or broad Topic. This will really help with focusing your search.
You won't always use WorldCat Local, though. Locate Reserves either from the Reserves button on the library web page or from the Reed-only catalog. You can also use the Reed-Only to see if an item is on order.
Good Places to Start
AccessScience
Covers all of science; much information of biological interest. Includes a scientific dictionary, images, and biographies of famous scientists. Also includes links to related websites.
Dictionary of Biology
Subjects covered include biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, as well as some medicine and palaeontology. Includes biographies of key scientists in the discipline.
Encyclopedia of Life
Born from E.O. Wilson's desire
for there to be a web page for every organism, this project is an attempt to create an online reference source and database for every one of the 1.8 million species that are named and known on this planet.

