Finding Books
Searching the Library Catalog
With WorldCat Local, you can search Reed, Summit (Northwest libraries) and libraries around the world simultaneously. WorldCat Local also includes thousands of journal article citations.
Try the facets on the left side of the screen to narrow your search by language, year of publication, and more. If you find books or articles that are not available in the Reed Library, the catalog will give you the option to request through Summit or through ILL.
The Reed-only catalog interface is also available for searching.
Style Manual
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Ref LB2369 .G53 2009
Language Learning Resources
The Language Lab website has information about tutoring, descriptions of language learning software, and many other resources.
Quick Lookups
Cambridge Companion to the French Novel
Discusses the novel in French over the past two centuries. In addition there is a chronology and guide to further reading.
The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French
Ref PQ41 .N48 1995
Brief entries on authors, works, and several extended essays on literary topics.
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Ref PN81 .J554 2005
A guide to the intellectual traditions of literary theory. It includes articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
Voice of the Shuttle
Links to websites useful for the study of French literature.
ARTFL: A Textual Database
Consists of nearly 3,000 texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The 18th, 19th and 20th centuries are equally represented. Also included are historical dictionariess and the Diderot Encyclopédie.
Gallica: Digital Library of the Bibliotheque Nationale de France
Searchable, digital materials (books, journals, newspapers, printed music and more) from the collections of the BnF.
Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Ref PN1021 .N39 2012
"Provides surveys of 106 national poetries; descriptions of poetic forms and genres... provides balanced and comprehensive accounts of the major movements and issues in criticism and literary theory."
Le Grand Robert de la langue française
Online version of the authoritative French dictionary
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online - French/English
Dictionnaires d'autrefois
French dictionaries of the 17th, 18th, 19th and 20th centuries.

