German Literature

Finding Books

Searching the Library Catalog

With WorldCat Local, you can search Reed, Summit (Northwest libraries) and libraries around the world simultaneously. WorldCat Local also includes thousands of journal article citations.

Try the facets on the left side of the screen to narrow your search by language, year of publication, and more. If you find books or articles that are not available in the Reed Library, the catalog will give you the option to request through Summit or through ILL.

The Reed-only catalog interface is also available for searching.

Looking for inspiration?

Browse the PT section of the library in the Southeast Stacks for German literature books and criticism or try a call number search in the Reed-only catalog for PT.

Style Manual

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Ref LB2369.G53 2009

 

Language Learning Resources

The Language Lab website has information about tutoring, descriptions of language learning software, and many other resources.

Quick Lookups

Biographisch-Bibliographisches Kirchenlexikon

Kindlers Neues Literatur Lexikon
Ref PN44. K55 1988
A major encyclopedic work covering world literature. Articles include biographical information, summaries of works and bibliographies for further research.

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Ref PN81 .J554 2005
A guide to the intellectual traditions of literary theory. It includes articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century
Ref PN771 .E5 1999
Biographical and critical articles include bibliographies of works by and about authors.

European Writers
Ref PN501 .E9 1983
Essays on authors’ lives, times, and works. Includes bibliographies.

New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Ref PN1021 .N39 1993
"Provides surveys of 106 national poetries; descriptions of poetic forms and genres...detailed explanations of the devices of prosody and rhetoric; and overviews of all major schools of poetry ancient and modern, Western and Eastern...provides balanced and comprehensive accounts of the major movements and issues in criticism and literary theory."

Oxford Companion to German Literature
Ref PT41 .G3 1997
Brief articles on authors, terms, literary movements, etc. Includes authors writing in German wherever they live.

Oxford Dictionaries Online-German/English

Last Update: 22 Feb 23:38 | Tagged with: German Literature