Resources for Psychology

Getting Started

There are many handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias that describe psychological terms, names, data, etc. If you wish to explore your topic, these reference provide definitions and introductory information about the subject. Other more specialized resources are available in the Reference Room:

APA Dictionary of Psychology
Ref BF31 .A63 2007

AccessScience
Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Covers all science.

The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science 3rd ed.
Ref BF 31 .E52 2001

Encyclopedia of Psychology
Ref BF 31 .E52 2000

Glossary of Cognitive Science
Ref BF311 .D84 1993
Definitions and brief explanations of the terminology of cognitive science. For students in psychology, linguistics, philosophy, and neuroscience.

The Oxford Companion to the Mind
Ref BF31 .O94 2004
Covers a broad range of topics in psychology in one volume including aspects of language and communication, biological and medical measurements of psychophysics and psychopathology, and the philosophical antecedents of psychological theories and thought.

Psychology: A Guide to Reference and Information Resources
Ref BF 121 .B39 1993
A comprehensive guide covering all the major psychological disciplines. The largest section, covering specialized topics in psychology, follows the classification used in Psychological abstracts.

Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms
Ref BF 32 .T54 2005
A thesaurus of the terms used in PsycInfo with related terms and a rotated alphabetical term list.

MESH Medical Subject Headings
The thesaurus used in Medline. Use the MESH browser to search for related terms for your concepts.

 

Last Update: 06 Sep 13:21