History Research Guide

Finding and getting books

Reed's  WorldCat Local catalog allows you to search Reed's catalog, Summit (the Pacific Northwest libraries' shared catalog) and WorldCat simultaneously.  Start your search with a keyword search then use the "facets" on the left side of the screen to make your search more relevant.
Some things to keep in mind when searching library catalogs:
  • Begin with a basic search.  When you find titles that seem on target, look for subject links.  These are important clues to the language that the catalog uses for your topic and will lead you to more comprehensive search results.
  • The catalog is a listing of whole books so it describes the whole book, not individual chapters or essays. Newer books often list the entire Table of Contents for the book.
  • Use the information in the detailed record to help you decide if the book will be useful. This includes book reviews and cover art.

Other types of materials you will find in WorldCat Local:

  • Periodicals: Journals, magazines, newspapers
  • Films: DVDs, VHS, other film formats
  • Music: CDs, LPs, scores
  • Other: Theses and dissertations, government documents, microforms, special collections

Getting the books you find:

If you need help finding the location of a book in the Reed Library, ask for assistance at the Reference Desk or Circulation Desk. We are here to help! If you prefer finding things on your own, the library map will help.

If you need a book that is already checked out, you can order another copy from Summit (if available) or place a hold on it at the Circulation Desk. If you need it sooner than its due date and it has been on loan for at least two weeks, you may request its recall.

Request books from Summit libraries with your name and the barcode number from your Reed ID.  To request books from WorldCat libraries, you'll be linked to your Illiad (interlibrary loan) page, where you'll need to use your Reed network login and password to complete your request. Pick up books ordered through Summit or ILL at the Circulation Desk.

Note: If you'd prefer to search Reed library materials using our traditional catalog, the Reed-only catalog is still available.

Finding Aricles - Essential Sources

The two most important databases for the history search:

  • America: History and Life open database
    Indexes over 2,000 scholarly journals to find citations for appropriate articles on your topic in American or Canadian history, from prehistory to the present.
    Coverage Dates: 1964 - Present
  • Historical Abstracts open database
    Covers 1450 to the present by indexing some 2,000 journals in the field of European and world history, excluding America and Canada.
    Coverage Dates: 1954 - Present

Finding Articles - General Sources

Other databases, some of which provide access to fulltext, relevant to history:

  • Academic Search Premier open database
    Multi-disciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for over 7000 journals, with fulltext for close to 4000. Includes nice science coverage. Good for intro topics and beginning research, or when you just need to find AN"" article on a topic."
    Coverage Dates: 1965 - Present
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index open database
    Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Available through Web of Science. Allows for searching of references cited in journal articles, as well as keyword, author, and title searching.
    Coverage Dates: 1975 - Present
  • Bibliography of Asian Studies open database
    Multi-disciplinary index of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia. Also available 1971-1985 in print (Ref DS5 .B53).
    Coverage Dates: 1971 - Present
  • Humanities Abstracts open database
    Covers a wide range of subjects with abstracts written for most articles. Indexes 465 journals. Available in print as Humanities Index (Ref AI3 .H8) from 1974 - 2000.
    Coverage Dates: 1984 - Present
  • Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective open database
    Covers a wide range of subjects with abstracts written for most articles. Indexes 465 journals. Available in print as Humanities Index (Ref AI3 .H8) from 1974 - 2000.
    Coverage Dates: 1907 - 1984
  • JSTOR open database
    Fulltext archive of almost 400 scholarly journals of major importance in many fields. Most titles are available from their first issue up to 2-5 years ago.
    Coverage Dates: 1800 - Varies
  • Social Sciences Citation Index open database
    Multi-disciplinary index covering the journal literature of the social sciences. (Available through Web of Science.)
    Coverage Dates: 1898 - Present
  • Social Sciences Abstracts open database
    Indexes 550 sources for anthropology, economics, law, geography, political science, and sociology. Available in print as Social Sciences Index (Ref AI3 .S6) from 1974 - 2000.
    Coverage Dates: 1983 - Present
  • Alternative Press Index open database
    Searches both Alternative Press Index and Alternative Press Index Archive. Useful for researching cultural, economic, political & social change. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
    Coverage Dates: 1991 - Present
  • Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance: Iter Bibliography open database
    Provides subject access to selected materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400 - 1700) published since 1990.
    Coverage Dates: 1784 - Present

Concept Mapping

Articles Published in Specific Time Periods

Nineteenth Century Periodicals - A list of periodicals published in the 19th century that have been digitized and are available online.

Last Update: 27 Aug 13:44 | Tagged with: history