Economic Statistics and Data Sources
Statistical Abstract of the United States, online and in the reference room, Ref Desk HA202 .U5.
Convenient compilation of frequently sought statistics on a broad range of topics. Includes references to data sources. Compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau. Older editions in the Stacks.
Historical Statistics of the United States Millenial Edition, online and in the reference room, Ref HA202 .H57 2006 (5 vols.)
Updated and expanded edition provides essays on data sources, tables, and downloadable Excel files.
-
FedStats
A directory of data available from over 70 U.S. government agencies. Includes useful features for locating government data by subject and geographic area, links to key indicators, and descriptions of activities of major data-collecting agencies.
Coverage Dates: - -
International Financial Statistics
Select and download indicators from the International Monetary Fund.
Coverage Dates: 1945 - Present -
Proquest Statistical Insight
This is the most comprehensive index for publications of the U.S. government, international organizations, foreign countries, U.S. state governments, and non-governmental organizations. Use the Data Sets feature to build tables and graphs from data sets from many government and international government sources.
Coverage Dates: 1974 - Present -
OECD iLibrary
Portal site for all electronic publications of the Organisation of Economic Cooperation and Development. For data, choose Statistics"" from the navigation bar at the top of the main page."
Coverage Dates: - -
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Coverage Dates: unknown - unknown -
World Development Indicators Online
Extract data by country from hundreds of economic and social indicators compiled by the World Bank.
Coverage Dates: 1962 - Present
Literature Review Tools
A literature review on any topic begins with a thorough search for books using the library catalog. But in order to conduct a more thorough search, including the journal literature and other source materials, more tools are needed. These sources are especially useful for students of economics.
-
EconLit
A database of abstracts of journal articles originally published in the Journal of Economic Literature.
Coverage Dates: 1969 - Present -
Social Sciences Citation Index
As part of the Web of Science this database includes abstracts of articles published in some of the most prestigious journals from a broad spectrum of the social sciences disciplines. An essential part of any literature search in the social sciences for its currency, selectivity, and the ability to search for important works or authors cited.
Coverage Dates: 1898 - Present -
Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for over 7000 journals, with fulltext for close to 4000.
Coverage Dates: 1965 - Present -
JSTOR
Contains digitized images of the complete archives of selected core scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. The searching capability allows for searching across disciplines. Please note: for most journals, the most current 5 years of articles are not available in JSTOR, so be sure to supplement your literature search with other databases.
Coverage Dates: 1800 - Varies -
Business Source Premier
Abstracts and full text articles on companies, business and industries. Includes a company and industry profiles.
Coverage Dates: - -
LexisNexis Academic
Contemporary newspapers, transcripts, business, and legal sources.
Coverage Dates: 1980 - Present
Reference Works
These subject-specific encyclopedias provide easy access to authoritative definitions and concepts used in the methodology and approaches to economics.
The New Palgrave: A Dictionary of Economics, online and in the reference room, Ref HB61.N49 2008 (8 volumes)
Authoritative subject encyclopedia of major terms and concepts.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences, online and in the reference room, Ref H 41 .I53 2001 (26 vols.) Authoritative articles on concepts and methodologies in all social sciences, including interdisciplinary approaches. Articles in the online edition are updated. Each entry includes short bibliographies of important works for further reading.
