Theatre Research Guide

Designers and productions

International Dictionary of Theatre    See v.3. Actors, directors and designers.  Reference PN2035 .I49 1992

The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama  A possible starting point for locating production information- search by dramatist, play title, genre, or designer (1860-present).  Reference PN1861 .C65 2007.

LexisNexis Academic  Search for designer and/or production information in articles from the NY Times and other major U.S. newspapers, 1980-present

ProQuest Historical Newspapers  Search for designer and/or production information in articles from the NY Times and other major U.S. newspapers. Coverage back to mid-nineteenth century for most titles

Find images

Tips for navigating Reed's art collection.

The following are selected sources for images that may be of particular interest to design/tech students.  For a more comprehensive list, see the Reed College Library images guide.

ARTstor  Digital library of art images, associated information, and software tools.  Includes Brooklyn Museum costume collections held by the Metropolitan Museum of Art.  (browse by searching for the keywords 'brooklyn costume.')

Reed Digital Collections  Includes art and archeology, maps and primary source documents.

Berg Fashion Library

Vogue Archive  Searchable archive of the entire run of Vogue, including images and advertisements.

Godey's Lady's Book   Good source for women's fashion in 19th century United States.  Available via Accessible Archives; search by source to limit results to Godey's.

Andre Studios  Online library of drawings and sketches produced by the New York firm Andre Fashion Studios in the 1930s and early 1940s.

Victoria & Albert Museum: Fashion  European fashion from the 17th century to the present.

VADS  Includes collections relating to fashion, textiles, design and architecture.

Metropolitan Museum of Art Costume Institute

LIFE Photo Archive  Photos from the LIFE photo archive, dating from the 1750s to present. Most were never published.

Reader's Guide Retrospective This database indexes the popular periodical literature from 1890 to 1982. Sometimes a good source for identifying images that would have accompanied these articles.

 

Clothing and fashion

Berg Fashion Library   Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion as well as content from other electronic books and journals related to dress and fashion. Also includes images from the Metropolitan Museum of Art Costume Institute and other sources.

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through World History   Reference GT507 G74 2008

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion    Reference GT507 E53 2005

Contemporary Fashion   Oversize TT505 A1 C66 2002

The Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture   Reference E169.1 G7555 2002

Fashion Since 1900   GT596 M45 2010

Fashion and Costume in American Popular Culture   Reference GT605 O45 1996

Tips and tricks

Works relating to costume design are generally shelved in these call number ranges: GT507 - GT2282, PN2067 - PN2071, TT490 - TT679

Works on set and lighting design are generally shelved in this call number range: PN2085 - PN 2098

To locate items in the Reed College library catalog relating to costume, makeup, set or lighting design, try a subject search using one of the following terms:

Beauty, personal-- history
Children’s clothing
Clothing and dress
Cosmetics-- history
Costume
Costume-- pictorial works
Costume design-- history
Costume design-- pictorial works
Costume history-- 19th century
Costume history-- 20th century
Fashion
Make up
Men’s clothing
Scene painting
Stage lighting
Stage machinery
Theaters-- Stage-setting and scenery
Theatrical makeup
Women’s clothing

Last Update: 23 Feb 09:41 | Tagged with: theatre drama plays