Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Covers topics related to the study of all known hormones (in vertebrates, plants and insects). Each entry consists of an outline, an overview description, and a detailed treatment of the topic.
Encyclopedia of Immunology
Includes relevant readings, including review articles, cross-references, and crystallographic data.
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology
Comprehensive reference source to the core topics of molecular biology and also includes general background material for those fields to which molecular biology. Length of entries vary from definition to encyclopedic.
The Enzyme Reference
Ref QP601 .P87 2002
Standard name, class, EC number, reaction information for classified and some unclassified enzymes. Includes over 6500 enzyme-catalyzed reactions with citations to the original paper and review articles, when available.
Enzyme Nomenclature
Ref QP601 .I56 1992
Revision of the 1984 Nomenclature Committee of the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. Includes standard abbreviations and references.
Glossary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Ref QP512 .G55 1997
Short definitions of terms related to biochemistry. Names of enzymes, vitamins, hormones and other biochemical substances are not included.
Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology
Ref QR180.4 .C78 2009
Defines many of the basic terms of immunology. Illustrations include diagrams, charts, and structures.
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Brief definitions of terms (including acronyms and abbreviations). Includes some structures.
Practical Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Ref QP514.2 .P73 1989
Divided into four major sections: Amino Acids and Proteins; Nucleosides, Nucleotides and Nucleic Acids; Lipids; and Physical-Chemical Data. Excellent source of fundamental biochemical information.
General
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Ref Desk QD65 .H3 [year]; link to 2011-2012 edition
Standard reference source for chemical and physical data--constants, properties, etc. Earlier editions in the Stacks.
Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry
Ref QD39.3 .E46 E53 1998
Includes definitions and articles dealing with "computer-driven approaches to chemistry." Also includes descriptions of relevant software.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Comprehensive encyclopedia covering chemical technology, industrial processes and applications.
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry
Ref QD65 .L36 2005
Contains conversion tables, physical properties, and thermodynamics data.
Merck Index
Ref Desk RS51 .M4 2006
Information, including literature citations, on over 10,000 significant chemicals, drugs and biological substances. Synonyms and trade names can be looked up in the "Cross Index." Also available in CD-ROM version in the North Reference room.
NIST-JANAF Thermochemical Tables
Ref QD511 .N57 1998
Thermodynamic and ion-energetics data. Online version available as NIST Chemistry Web Book. Searchable by name, formula, and CAS number.
Techniques of Chemistry
QD61 .T4
Compilation of methodology in chemical analysis and synthesis for organic and inorganic chemistry; arranged by “technical family”--e.g. instruments, electrochemical methods, spectroscopy, chromatography, etc. (14 "volumes", some in multiple parts = 30 actual volumes)
Inorganic Chemistry
Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry
Comprehensive coverage of inorganic chemistry and related topics. The 8-volume set includes organometallic, bioinorganic, and physical and theoretical topics, as relevant.
A Comprehensive Treatise on Inorganic & Theoretical Chemistry
QD151 .M52C
Authoritative, detailed treatment of the elements and their compounds, although now somewhat dated. Sequence follows periodic table. Extensive bibliographies.
Laboratory/Safety
Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards
Ref T55.3.H3 B73 1999
Data on stability, flammability, etc. of specific compounds; potential violent interactions between compounds.
Chemical Technicians' Ready Reference Handbook
QD61 .S58 1996
Covers all types of basic laboratory techniques, procedures, equipment, etc.
CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety
Ref QD51 .C73 1995
Describes laboratory safety procedures and guidelines in accordance with government regulations.
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials
Ref T55.3 .H3 L494 2004
Hazard information on laboratory and industrial materials including toxicity, carcinogenicity, and mutagenecity; CA registry number and synonym cross-indexes.
Organic Chemistry
Comprehensive Organic Synthesis: Selectivity, Strategy, and Efficiency in Modern Organic Chemistry
Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry II: A Review of the Literature 1982-1994
Surveys of research conducted in the particular areas. Each title is a multi-volume set with it’s own index.
Dictionary of Organic Compounds
Valuable source of data on organic compounds, including constitution, physical and chemical properties, use, bibliographic references, toxicity information, CAS registry numbers. Arranged by "DOC" (chemical) name, with name and formula indexes.
Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (EROS)
Fieser's Reagents for Organic Synthesis (v. 19 - present)
QD262 .F54 1999
Standard reference work describing reagents of use to organic chemists; includes bibliographic references. v. 1 - 7 (QD262 .F5) is titled Reagents for Organic Synthesis, v. 8 - 17 (QD262 .F54 1980) is titled Fieser & Fieser's Reagents for Organic Synthesis.
Properties of Organic Compounds [computer file]
North Reference Room
Provides physical property and spectral data for over 27,500 organic chemical compounds. Data may be accessed by substructure searches, physical property searches, spectral peak searches, or any combination thereof.
Spectroscopy
The Aldrich Library of 13C and 1H FT NMR Spectra Ref QC462.85 .A44 1993
The Aldrich Library of FT-IR Spectra Ref QD96.I5 P66 1985
The Aldrich Library of Infrared Spectra, 2nd ed. Ref QD96.I5 P67 1975
The Aldrich Library of NMR Spectra, 2nd ed. Ref QD96.N8 P68 1983
Encyclopedia of Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Ref QC762 .E53 1995
The Handbook of Infrared and Raman Spectra of Inorganic Compounds and Organic Salts Ref QC457 .N927 1997
Practical Handbook of Spectroscopy Ref QD95 .P73 1991
The Sadtler Handbook of Infrared Spectra Ref QC453 .S73 1978

