Math, Statistics, & Computer Science

Getting Started

There are many handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias that describe mathematical terms, etc. If you are not clear about your topic, try establishing its limits with a good definition and some introductory information. The following sources may be helpful:

AccessScience
Online scientific encyclopedia and dictionary. Links to related websites. Includes some biographies.

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics
"Covering everything in the field, from pure and applied mathematics to statistics, it also covers areas of more general interest, such as fractals, game theory, and chaos. The third edition has been brought right up-to-date with terms used in first-year university courses, such as Lorenz attractor and Liouville numbers; computing entries have also been expanded, along with biographies of prominent mathematicians, including Nobel Prizewinners and Fields' medalists."

Dictionary of Statistics
"Provides concise definitions of terms likely to be encountered by students, of both Statistics and of disciplines featuring statistical material such as politics, medicine, and mathematics."

Encyclopaedia of Mathematics
Ref QA5 .M3713 1988
Contains survey-type articles, detailed articles on specific topics, and short definitions; articles include editorial comments and references.

Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology
Ref Q123 .E497 2002
Multi-volume encyclopedia with lengthy, fairly technical, signed articles; separate subject index volume.

Mathematics Dictionary
Ref QA5 .J33 1992
Good general dictionary - concise definitions, brief references to contributors to mathematics; multilingual index.

 

Last Update: 17 Aug 15:43