Key Reference Books
Art and Architecture
The Grove Dictionary of Art (Ref N31 .D5 1996)
Multi-volume; Part of Oxford Art Online
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture (Ref N5610 .G76 2007)
The New Century Handbook of Greek Art and Architecture (Stacks N5633 .N49 1972)
History, Culture and Atlases
The Oxford Classical Dictionary (Ref DE5 .O9 2003)
Single most useful reference source for all things Classical.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Civilizations (Ref CB311 .E52 1988)
Encyclopedia of the History of Ancient Archaeology (Ref DE5 .E5 1996)
Oxford History of the Classical World (Stacks DE59 .O94 1986)
Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire (Ref DG270 .B86 1994)
Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World (Ref G1033 .B3 2000, Maps)
The Macmillan Bible Atlas (Ref G2230 .A2 1993, Maps)
Language and Lit Critcism
Greek and Latin Authors, 800 B.C.-A.D. 1000 (Ref PA31 .G7)
Oxford Companion to Classical Literature (Ref PA31 .H69 1989)
Online version is abridged.
Philosophy and Religion
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Ref B51 .R68 1998)
A comprehensive encyclopedia. The online version can be browsed by philosophical themes, philosophies, historical periods, and religions. Fulltext entries can be searched by keyword, title, contributor, or bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy (Stacks B163 .E53 1997)
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity (Ref BR162.2 .E53 1997)
Encyclopedia of Religion (Ref BL31 .E46 2005)
The first edition, edited by Mircea Eliade and published in 1986, is a classic text in the study of Religion and features broad essays with substantial detail and bibliographies. The second edition (the online version) is completely revised with substantial additional content.
Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period: 450 B.C.E. to 600 C.E. (Ref BM50 .D525 1996)
Finding Books
Online Research Tools
-
Oxford Reference Online for Classics
A collection of cross-searchable reference titles, such as The Oxford Classical Dictionary, Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization, and Who's Who in the Classical World. Some entries contain bibliographies.
Coverage Dates: - -
Credo Reference
Articles and images from hundreds of reference titles. For best results in classics research, use the "History" search option. Relevant titles include: Encyclopedia of World Trade From Ancient Times to the Present, Guide to the Ancient World, Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World, The Reader's Companion to Military History, and Who's Who in The Roman World.
Coverage Dates: - -
Blackwell Reference Online Classics Collection
A searchable fulltext collection of Blackwell's companion reference books for classics.
Coverage Dates: - -
Cambridge Collections Online
Search the "Literature and Classics" and/or "Philosophy, Religion and Culture" subcollections. Thousands of essays on major authors, literary genres, historic periods, and cultural movements, many of which include glossaries, timelines, and bibliographies.
Coverage Dates: - -
Oxford Bibliographies Online - Classics
An online guide to scholarly literature and research in classics. Contains topical overviews, as well as comprehensive bibliographies covering reference sources, translated works, journal articles, and links to catalog records and online resources.
Coverage Dates: unknown - unknown -
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism (CMLC)
A survey of critical commentary on the work of specific authors and key texts. Also contains biographical information and bibliographies of primary and secondary works.
Coverage Dates: -
Reference Universe
Reed's library contains thousands of specialized subject encyclopedias and other reference works. Try this search box to search table-of-contents and book indexes of these titles to find reference entries and articles on your topic.

