Using Images at Reed

Public domain and copyleft images

Finding and using public domain photographs (Public Domain Sherpa)

Finding Creative Commons images on Flickr:

  • Browse
  • Search (Scroll to bottom of page and select Creative Commons option)

Creative Commons Search Portal

Images in articles

Articles are sometimes good sources for images.  Many article databases allow you to limit your search to articles containing images or to sort your search result to highlight articles containing images.

Humanities Abstracts is an example of a multi-disciplinary database that allows you to search specifically for articles containing images.  Enter your search terms and then enter 'illustration,' selecting 'Physical Description' in the dropdown menu.  Here's a sample search.

JSTOR is an example of a multi-disciplinary database that allows you to sort your search results to highlight articles containing images.  Here's a sample search.

Images in books

When searching the library catalog for collections of images in books, the following strategies are good to try:

  • search for 'ill' or 'illus' as a keyword (both are abbreviations for 'illustrations')
  • search for 'pictorial' or 'illustrations' as a subject term

More resources

Key resources

Reed Digital Collections  Includes licensed images and primary source material (photos, cultural objects, historic maps, manuscripts, etc.) from Art & Classics, Reed College Archives, Special Collections, and beyond.

ARTstor Art, architecture and archeology from a wide range of cultures and time periods. *For off-campus access, register with ARTstor from an on-campus computer.   ARTstor quick start guide

Library of Congress American Memory  Collections relating to American history and culture. Maps, advertising, images of significant events and places, etc.

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Collection  Online access to much of the Prints and Photographs Division's holdings, including architecture, design and engineering.

Europeana   Digital collections from Europe's galleries, libraries, archives and museums.

Flickr: The Commons  Access public photo collections from institutions worldwide.

WikiMedia Commons A repository for public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips).

News & pop culture

AP Images   Contemporary and historical (to 1800s) news and culture photographs from Associated Press. Also available are audio files from the 1920s to the present, Associated Press news stories from 1997 on, and a collection of graphics (e.g., maps, charts/graphs, logos, illustrations).

Vanderbilt Television News Archive  Contains video clips from major television news networks, some as streaming video, but most must be ordered. Contact a librarian for help in placing an order.

Life Photo Archive  Photographs from the Life Magazine photo archive (most of which were never published) from the 1750s to today.

Duke Digital Collections The Advertising and Consumer Culture collections cover American advertising from the 1850s through the 1950s.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers  This database contains scanned images of historical newspapers, and allows you to limit your search to display advertistements and classified ads.

Victorian Popular Culture  This database covers popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930, including magic shows, vaudeville, and circuses. Includes posters, illustrations, flyers, and other ephemera.

Fashion & design

VADS   Art, fashion design and textiles.

Berg Fashion Library   Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion as well as content from other electronic books and journals related to dress and fashion. Also includes images from V&A Museum's internationally renowned fashion collection and other sources.

Victoria & Albert Museum: Fashion, Jewellery and Accessories  European fashion from the 17th century to the present.

Vogue Archive  Index to articles, images and advertisements in Vogue.

Last Update: 15 Aug 16:32 | Tagged with: images