Finding Films
Tips on searching for films in the catalog(s)
Finding DVDs and videotapes
Videos are cataloged using Library of Congress call numbers. Since these call numbers were conceived with books in mind, the classifications with regards to videorecordings have been liberally applied. Consequently, it is not out of the ordinary to find the same title with different call numbers. Searching for movies is as simple as putting in the title (as either a title or keyword search) and limiting it to the video collection either by selecting "visual materials" from the WorldCat Local catalog or selecting "videos" from the pull down menu on the Reed-only catalog. If you need further reduction of the search results, try the title and the director or lead actor’s last name. The call number will be followed by either “video” (VHS) or “DVD” depending on the format. You can also view a database of movies by title, release date, or language from the
Quick Lookups
Cambridge Companion to Literature on Screen
Movie Review Query Engine
Website for online reviews including most major periodicals.
Margaret Herrick Library Digital Collections
Academy of Motion Pictures and Sciences database containing more than 3000 items, including correspondence, photographs, early release fliers, full issues of rare periodicals, sheet music, Oscar winners, and movie star ephemera.
The Media History Digital Library
Open access database for magazines and journals of film, broadcast, and recorded sound. Contents are scanned images of the original publications with text recognition.
Snagfilms
A free online resource for thousands of documentary films on a wide array of topics.
UbuWeb
UbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts.
-
Film and Television Literature Index with Fulltext
Indexes more than 380 film and television publications, including Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Coverage Dates: 1914 - Present -
Film Indexes Online
Two databases in one. Search the American Film Institute Catalog for information about American feature films produced up to 1973. Includes full production and cast information, plot summaries and production notes. Search Film Index International for information about films produced around the world since 1900.
Coverage Dates: - -
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Indexes articles in academic journals and trade magazines in communications, film, and mass media. Full text articles for many sources.
Coverage Dates: 1905 - Present -
Project MUSE
Full text access to over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. A good source for current articles on a variety of subjects.
Coverage Dates: 1958 - Present -
Film Literature Index
Indexes film and television periodicals from a number of countries. Both popular and scholarly materials are indexed. Current articles are not indexed.
Coverage Dates: 1976 - 2001 -
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
Indexing for books, journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, production documents, etc., relating to theatre and dance. Selected full text.
Coverage Dates: - -
International Index to the Performing Arts
Citations and selected full text for journal articles and other periodicals relating to dance, theatre, music, film, and performance art.
Coverage Dates: 1864 - Present -
MasterFILE Premier
Multidisciplinary database of general and popular magazines, periodicals, and reference sources. Many include full text.
Coverage Dates: -

